Dont’ Chase Your dream, Run them Down #TMM

“…Ek Din Sea link bhaguga”, I announced few years back.

Some 6 years back , I was studying M.C.A in NMITD college, Dadar. The college is on the famous Dadar Chowpaty. One can see the complete structure of BWSL from the college. During my 3 years of education and daily getting a dose of Sea link, there was a strong urge to visit the sea link and enjoy the view of Mumbai from the other side, take photographs, enjoying Arabian sea , experience sunset, sunrise and what not. But soon acquired the knowledge that pedestrian and two wheeler are not allowed on the sea link. I could have hired the taxi and went around it but I announced i would run the sea link one day. I promised my self. Believe me I was still unaware of the fact that one can run the sea link, as it is part of the Asia’s No.1 Race i.e Standard Chattered Mumbai Marathon. I knew that this kind of event is there but little did i have interest in that, i ignored the fact, I continued my NORMAL life which society usually expects from every young graduate and I was no different (then).

All this was happening during 2014-15. From somewhere I was informed about SCMM and that is when I gave myself target that I will run SCMM 2017. Unfortunately injuries, ad-hoc training runs, less knowledge about this sport failed me to qualify for this Asia’s No.1 marathon. I simply shifted the plan to do it 2018.

8 Week Plan
Just after 1 week of rest after finishing Deccan Cliffhanger, I prepared a plan and I was on dot, till week 6.
Unfortunately suddenly some food posion thing and then later cold made my last 2 weeks of taper hell. Now I knew that I will hit nowhere close to the target of 4 hours. Nevertheless I was ready for the challenge.

Pre Race Day
Arrived 2 days before in Mumbai, without any delays collected the bib before the race day, not much timepass and then rest.I was carrying book. Which one? “The Race of My Life- Milkha Singh”. The book was enough to boost whatever power required to finish the race and stand proud. Slept early at a friend’s place named Amey around 9’o clock.After 6 hours of sleep around 3 am, with a wake up call we made our self ready at the holding area.

Everything was perfect but the race strategy. Tushar Paigude and Prashant Jog , (they know my running and capabilities) gave a word of advise me to enjoy the debut marathon. Both advised me to run first half slow than what I am used, and attack only in second half. Tushar advised me to divide into 2 Half Marathon and run accordingly whereas Prashant added to go for negative split in the Marathon in the latter section.

IMG_20180121_120832.jpg
Prashant Jog, Amey Katurde, (Running Buddies)

The Race
Moved to line up section A , and started running or say started living my dream. Slow and steady I started my race. The best thing about TMM is the route and the route support and a runner wants nothing more than that. The first 5 kms are just tour of south Bombay, passing some heritage buildings and places Mumbai is known for like marine lines. It was just around 6’0 clock but quite a humid, i usually never sweat before 10 km, but here I was dropping in just 4 km. Soon I touched marine drive. This place is close to my heart I have spent considerable amount of time here relaxing , thinking, with loneliness, with friends and what not. This place is quite popular for running too with runners from Mumbai. People like us get very less opportunity to run over here due to distance. There were Bhangras, music , guitar band everything keeping our morale high.

I crossed Haji ali, the famous mosque which was sight to see it in the early morning with just small amount of natural light of sun over it. I was in two minds whether to click a pic or ran. I was tempted. I gave up and I ran. By the time 10 Km was completed, Mumbaikars (people of Mumbai) where awake and started cheering us. Soon around 13 km I started taking easy as I can see sea Link. All the above mentioned memories came back as flash and i knew i am gonna run my dream down , the sea link.
The Sea link was not less than 5 km and I just don’t wanted to let this segment get finished. After the timings I really saw that this was my slowest 5K in Full Marathon. :p , but again it was emotion. The people at worli exit toll were really funny , shouting “Aaj toll free hai, Bhaago”! (Today No toll will be taken , RUN).

By this time I have achieved my dream of running the Sea link and ticked off a item from my goals list.

IMG_20180121_072744.jpg
Living the dream

The route now moves towards some slums from Worli village, and all children started cheering providing with small toffees, salt oranges, bananas, dates, sweets, drinks water and more importantly that awesome smile (this was the most expensive thing they provided,  Sometimes I recall all those smiles and enjoy their love) and support which is the trademark of Mumbai city.

Bandra, Worli , Mahim, Matunga, Dadar, Worli these places usually we travel in taxi and train and I was running (I was thinking I saved a lot of travel money :p). Some where around 28 KM- 32 I struggled a lot , I cannot describe. it was not anything physical but mental, It was sign of first full marathon. Can I finish it, really ??.
With a minute break and a sachet of Enerzal, I was back to run and within next 2 km attained runner’s high.

TMMN5602.jpg
On Runner’s High

Another specialty of Mumbai Marathon is “The Peddar Road” climb (that’s a nightmare for countless runners of this race). At the base of the climb, I asked an unofficial volunteer “Is it this same hyped Peddar road climb?” and with a big smile, he said “Yes”.
At this point I have decided , I might not complete the whole race in 4 hours. But I will race this climb and did that. Sprinted the climb and from there on the running was just fun till finish line. From here on, I started running negative splits, enjoying marine drive with sun, barefoot, sprinkling water on body regularly, sprinted to finish line while the whole crowd was cheering and roaring.

IMG_20180121_115851.jpg
Foots after 40000+ Strides hitting the tar.

Indeed a strong finish , life time achievement and most importantly fulfilling the dream.

Oh yes… after this 26 mile race, I can call myself a ‘Marathoner’.

IMG_20180121_120741.jpg
It just isn’t a finisher medal. It’s a Pride

Don’t chase your dreams, Run them down

 

Leave a comment